Spanish, one of the five official languages of the United Nations, is spoken by over 340 million people in the world today. Originally a dialect of Latin, Spanish was first recognized as a language in its own right about 700 years ago. Spanish is spoken in Spain, in 19 Latin American countries, and in parts of Africa and the Philippines. It is also spoken in the United States, where about one out of ten residents speak Spanish.

Powered by EdWeb 2.0